CASE: Young Africa

  Apeldoorn, the Netherlands Young Africa combines vocational training with the foundation of new businesses and thus enables young Africans to support themselves and to take on responsibility for their communities. In its centres in Mozambique, Botswana,...

CASE: The Slow School of Business

  Melbourne, Australia The Slow School of Business is directed at people who want to start or have already started a business aimed at making the world a better place. Many members of the community – learners and teachers – are ‘corporate escapees’, people who...

CASE: Coursera

  Stanford, US Coursera is a platform for MOOCs (massive open online course), online courses that are available to all interested parties free of charge. MOOCs provide people throughout the world with the opportunity to participate in university courses –...

CASE: GoggleEDU

  Mountain View, California, US Google places a high level of importance on training its employees internally and uses the experience it has gained in data analysis to do so. As such, it gathers data about which courses its employees view as useful, which...

CASE: School in the cloud

  Newcastle University, UK School in the Cloud is an experiment in self-organised learning. It started with the Indian initiative ‘Hole in the Wall’ which placed computers in public places, particularly in regions with poor access to education and where most...

CASE: Right to Dream

Takoradi, Ghana Vorbilder inspirieren und bringen wieder neue Vorbilder hervor – das ist die Grundidee von „Right to Dream“. Talente aus ganz Afrika erhalten die Möglichkeit, an dieser Schule eine besondere Ausbildung zu erfahren, und geben dafür ihr Wissen und ihre...

CASE: We love reading

Jordanien Kindern vorzulesen – was für uns selbstverständlich erscheint, ist in der arabischen Welt eher unüblich. Da man aber auch hier immer mehr erkennt, dass die Freude am Lesen gefördert wird, wenn man den Kindern vorliest, und dass Lesen wiederum Empathie und...

CASE: Fuji Kindergarten Tokyo

Tokyo, Japan Die erste Besonderheit, die dem Betrachter beim Anblick des Fuji Kindergartens auffällt, ist seine architektonische Struktur: Er ist kreisförmig angelegt, es gibt ein Dach sowie einen Innenhof, wo die Kinder spielen können, und Wände und Zäune fehlen...

TREND: Change Making

Change Making Die Menschen stehen vor großen globalen Herausforderungen. Der Klimawandel, Kriege, Wirtschaftskrisen, Armut und mangelhafte Gesundheitsversorgung in vielen Gebieten der Erde erfordern neue und innovative Lösungsansätze, und es wird immer deutlicher,...