This post is also available in: Deutsch (German)

 

Saratoga (California), US f.e.

How high can we build? The International Space Elevator Consortium (ISEC) has set up a project aimed at answering this question. Researchers from around the world are currently developing theoretical concepts aimed at developing an inexpensive and environmentally friendly path to space that would act as an alternative to rockets. Participants in the challenge are usually students. On the one hand, the project provides a (playful) incentive to learn, but it also contributes towards advancing research on this subject.

ISEC’s current concept involves a cable extending from the surface of the planet into geostationary orbit. In order to ensure that the cable would remain tight despite gravitational and rotational forces, the space elevator’s centre of mass would have to be kept in this orbit. A lift would then be fixed onto the cable that would convey a payload to a space station or satellite. Power would be supplied by ‘power beaming’ (similar to a laser) and solar cells would also be used. The teams participate by designing ‘space elevators’ that would move along this cable.

Regular challenges take place around the world with different height requirements so as to provide challenging, yet manageable tasks for (young) researchers. The European Space Elevator Challenge at Munich Technical University, has, for example, set up an entry-level competition over a shorter distance to ensure that school pupils can also participate.

 

 

 

CASE ALSO IN THE FOLLOWING TRENDS:

 

 

GAMIFICATION

 

SUPPORTING TRENDREPORT

The Trend Report is funded entirely by donations and therefore evolves whenever YOU help us. Please donate on betterplace or contact us directly.

This post is also available in: English (Englisch)

Saratoga (Kalifornien), USA u.a.

Wie hoch können wir bauen? Auf dieser Frage beruht das Projekt des International Space Elevator Consortiums (ISEC). Forscher aus aller Welt entwickeln dafür theoretische Konzepte für einen kostengünstigen und umweltfreundlichen Weg ins All als Alternative zu Raketen. Die Teilnehmer der Challenge sind in der Regel Studenten. Das Projekt stellt einerseits einen (spielerischen) Anreiz zum Lernen dar, trägt gleichzeitig aber auch dazu bei, die Forschung zum Thema voranzubringen.

Das aktuelle Konzept des ISEC beinhaltet ein Seil, das von der Erdoberfläche bis zum geostationären Orbit reicht. Um das Seil gegen die Einwirkung der Gravitations- und Rotationskräfte gespannt halten zu können, muss das Zentrum der Masse des Space Elevator über diesem Orbit gehalten werden. Am Seil ist ein Aufzug befestigt, der die Nutzlast zur Raumstation oder zum Satelliten befördert. Die Energieversorgung soll mit „Power Beaming“ (ähnlich wie Laser) erfolgen, und auch Solarzellen sollen genutzt werden. Nach diesen Kriterien bauen Teams nun Aufzüge ins All, die an diesem Seil entlang steigen.

Weltweit finden regelmäßig Challenges statt mit unterschiedlichen Höhenansprüchen, um für (junge) Forschende herausfordernde, aber noch machbare Aufgaben zu bilden. Die European Space Elevator Challenge an der TU München hat beispielsweise einen Einsteiger-Wettbewerb über eine kürzere Strecke ins Leben gerufen, um auch Schüler*innen die Teilnahme zu ermöglichen.

CASE FINDET SICH IN FOLGENDEN TRENDS WIEDER:

GAMIFICATION

TRENDREPORT UNTERSTÜTZEN

Der Trendreport ist ausschließlich durch Spenden finanziert und entwickelt sich daher immer dann weiter, wenn SIE uns unterstützen. Spenden auf betterplace bzw. nehmen Sie direkt mit uns Kontakt auf.